A Passion for the Peplum

I love the look of the currently trendy peplum top.  I’ve wanted to buy one for some time now, but could never find one with the right style, color, and price.  Being kind of cheap and having a handy-dandy sewing machine, I decided to go ahead and try to make my own.

IMG_0410

I found some left over fabric from a skirt I made a while ago and went to work.  Given this was my first time ever making a legitimate top/blouse, I didn’t know how to go about it.  After scouring the internet for free patterns, I came up with very little.  I ended up watching a few Youtube videos and reading a blog tutorial on making a circle skirt.  Combining these, I made my top.  Also, since it was a fitted top with non-stretchy material, I put in an invisible zipper down the right side.  (Sadly, I don’t have photos of the creation process.  I was sure I’d turn out a big failure and didn’t want to document that, haha.)

peplumtop

Using a half circle skirt for the peplum part actually worked out well!  It would have worked out even better though if I hadn’t run out of fabric at this point.  As you can see from the photos below, the top is kind of short, haha.  I was also planning for there to be sleeves, but no go.

peplum

I also was so excited to do this project that I went against my better judgement and didn’t prewash the fabric I used for this.  And of course, after I washed the finished product, it shrunk – making it even smaller and shorter than it already was.  Well, lesson learned!

Anywho, I really had fun experimenting and making this top. I love the way it looks and am impressed with myself for creating something wearable without using a pattern.  I’ll just be sure to wear a cami under it  😉  I can’t wait to have a reason to wear this out!

  1. Looks great! Well done!

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

