Canvas Creation

I’ve been in a crafting dry spell for a while now, but I wanted to get blogging again.  So I’m posting about something I made for my parents for Christmas.

I’ve seen so many pins in the “DIY & Crafts” section on Pinterest about DIY canvas prints.  I’ve always thought canvas prints were a cool alternative to regular photo frames.  Since getting a professional canvas print can be pretty expensive, I wanted to make my own.

IMG_2867

Materials used:

  • 8″x8″ canvas
  • Mod Podge
  • foam brush
  • tissue paper
  • tape
  • printer
  • iron
  • X-acto knife

The process for making this was fairly simple.  I cut out a piece of tissue paper and ironed out any crinkles and folds.  I taped it around the edges to a regular sheet of 8.5″x11″ paper.  Then I printed a picture from my parents’ wedding onto the prepared paper.  This was where the only problem came up.  I thought feeding the paper through the printer’s rear tray would be gentler since the paper wouldn’t have to be rolled and flipped over.  However, I tried this three times, and each time the printer tore the tissue paper.  I then tried to feed the paper through the bottom tray which worked out perfectly the first time, except for a little smudging on the end/edge of the print.

IMG_2883

After the print sat and fully dried, I delicately separated the tissue paper from the printer paper. Then I spread a thin layer of Mod Podge over the canvas and aligned the tissue paper onto it. I carefully pressed and smoothed the tissue paper down.  Once that dried, I used an X-acto knife to cut off the extra tissue paper and then put another layer of Mod Podge on top.

That’s it!

IMG_2888

My mom really liked the finished product!  She thought I had it professionally made or that I somehow printed onto the canvas.  It came out really nice for a fraction of the price of the real thing!

  1. I am going to have to share this with my sister! She loves buying those photo canvases and I know how expensive they can be, clever!

  2. I pinned this to my Pinterest page, Crafts! THanks! http://pinterest.com/jessicahm28/crafts/

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

