Top of the A-Line Skirt

Spring has sprung, the weather is warming, and summer is fast approaching!  Everything seems more colorful and vibrant!  Recently, I was perusing through a fabric shop when an interesting patterned fabric caught my eye.  I guess I would describe it as an Aztec or tribal print, which I don’t usually wear, but I thought it’d be nice for spring/summer.

IMG_2940

I decided to make an A-lined skirt.  This was a big time for firsts for me: the first time I made a skirt, made a lining, and sewn with a fabric that required matching the pattern at the seams.

IMG_2924

My aim was to create a billowy, high-waisted skirt.  I cut out two rectangular panels each from the fabric and the lining (main fabric: width = 34.5 in, length = 16.5 in; lining: width = 28 in, length = 15,75 in).  I made three pairs of large pleats in the front and the back pieces, which cinched in the fabric for the waist but left the bottom billowy.

pleating

pleating

I added a 1 inch waistband reinforced inside with iron-on fusible interfacing.  Attaching the waistband proved a little tricky, resulting in some misaligning of the fabric’s print and waistband.

attaching waistband to the outside of skirt

attaching waistband to outside of skirt

attaching waistband to inside of skirt

attaching waistband to inside of skirt

And as a finishing touch, I inserted an invisible zipper along the side.  I had to fudge the zipper placement a bit to account for the waistband mistake, but it turned out okay.

installing invisible zipper

installing invisible zipper

invisible zipper with askew waistband

invisible zipper with askew waistband

And finally, the finished product!  I’m quite happy with how it turned out!

IMG_1019

IMG_1028

IMG_1030

  1. You are so amazing. The skirt is fab and I absolutely love the print. 🙂

    • zachandclem
    • April 28th, 2013

    Good job, that looks lovely on you!

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

