Cupcake Dragon

My mom’s friend recently celebrated her birthday with an Asian themed party, so my mom had me make her a cupcake dragon.  It was my first time making a cupcake “sculpture” (I guess that’s what it’d be called), but it turned out pretty well.  Everyone was very enamored by it!

IMG_1847

However, the decorating process didn’t go so smoothly.  Firstly, the weather had been warm and after I frosted the cupcakes, all of it completely melted off, leaving sticky puddles of frosting on the bottom of the container.  The heat also made the “fondant” too soft to roll out or cut the shapes.  Secondly, I didn’t have cookie cutters, so I had to improvise (see next blog post for how-to info).  Thirdly, I ran out of wax paper half way through, requiring me to wait, reuse, and wipe off the wax paper after each rolling, refrigerating, and cutting of “fondant.”

melted frosting

melted frosting  =(

cutting out "fondant" shapes

cutting out “fondant” shapes

But after these set backs, putting all of the parts onto the cupcakes was fairly quick and easy.  Overall, it took me about 8 hours over 2 days to get the decorating done.

dragon's face

dragon’s face

RAWR!

RAWR!

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

