Italy: Photo Blog (pt.1 – Venice)

I just got back from a trip to Italy and can hardly believe I stood amongst such iconic and historic sites.  The architecture was amazing and the works of art were absolutely breathtaking!

Venice Cover Photo

Although this isn’t my usual crafting post, I thought I’d share some of the beauty and interesting sites I experienced and tried to capture through photography.  I visited three cities: Venice, Florence, and Rome.  I’ll be writing a post for each city, starting here with Venice (aka: Venezia), the city of water!

Grand Canal

Grand Canal

St. Mark's Square, Campanile, & Basilica

St. Mark’s Square, Campanile, & Basilica

Unfortunately, the first couple of days I was in Venice were filled with gloomy skies and periodic rain.  At least I didn’t need to slather on the sunscreen…

Pigeons of St. Mark's Square

Pigeons of St. Mark’s Square

Burano

Burano

Torcello dock

Torcello dock

Escaping the typical “tourist traps,” I visited two small Venetian islands: Burano and Torcello.  Burano had rows and rows of bright, colorful buildings, a church with a leaning bell tower, and a lace museum.  Torcello was a quiet, little island home to the Cathedral of Santa Maria Assunta.

Riding the vaporetto (water bus) beneath the Rialto Bridge at night

Riding the vaporetto (water bus) beneath the Rialto Bridge at night

Santa Maria della Salute

Santa Maria della Salute

Rialto Bridge

Rialto Bridge

Grand Canal

Grand Canal

Afternoon flooding of St. Mark's Square with reflections of the Basilica and Campanile reflection

Afternoon flooding of St. Mark’s Square with reflections of the Basilica and Campanile

St. Mark's Basilica & my travel companion, Mr. Gnome

St. Mark’s Basilica & my travel companion, Mr. Gnome

Aerial view of Venice from the Campanile

Aerial views of Venice from the Campanile

I went up the Campanile (bell tower) and thankfully there was an elevator.  The view from the top was quite nice.  I was surprised I couldn’t see any of the canals that wind through the city, which made the view a little ordinary, except for all of the orange tile roofs everywhere.

IMG_2815

Nighttime gondola ride along the Grand Canal

Nighttime gondola ride along the Grand Canal

    • travelscapism
    • October 21st, 2013

    I have many great memories of Venice… did the rain ever let up?

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

